Re-Wiring

What good news! Our brain’s neural pathways can be changed and re-wired for joy! After all, Romans 12:2 promises transformation by the renewing of our minds. I want to share an Immanuel story of how God is with me and re-wiring my thinking and understanding of a past experience.

I have a clear memory of my dad laughing when an older brother would tease me, I felt my brother was tormenting me. I couldn’t understand why Dad laughed about it! I felt hurt and abandoned. But hanging out with the Lord this morning, I remembered this picture of Jesus laughing (see below) and then my memory shifted to seeing my dad laughing. But this time I felt Dad wasn’t laughing at me. I heard the Lord say, Dad was laughing over both of you. He felt a father’s joy over his children and laughing at the antics of a teasing big brother. Dad loved you and felt joy because of you. And then the Lord’s invitation: Receive your father’s love and joy.

laughing jesus - Google Search:

Jesus’s words rearranged my thinking and perception of the memory. Joy and appreciation of my dad now fills my heart and memory. I’m thankful for my father’s love and joy. I’m thankful for the Lord re-wiring my brain’s memory tract!

Is there anyone around to save Israel?

Yes. God is around; God turns life around.

Turned-around Jacob skips rope,

turned-around Israel sings laughter.

Psalm 14:7 MSG